top of page

What Bach (doesn't) sound like

works listed in the official Bach repertoire (BWV), but the author of the music is not JS Bach


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 - 1750)

  • Orchestral suite in G minor, BWV 1070

  • Tilge, Höchster, meine Sünden BWV 1083


2 singers (soprano, alto), 2 violins, viola, cello, organ, theorba

Characteristics of the program:

The interesting thing about the Orchestral Suite in G minor is the official acceptance by experts that this work was not composed by Johann Sebastian, but probably by his eldest son Wilhelm Friedemann. The mistake in the transcription was probably made by Bach's pupil Chr. F. Penzel, who named "Signor Bach" as the author in 1753, without giving a first name. It has 5 parts, z toho two torneo a capriccio are a clear indicator that the author is not a North German composer, but an author living in_cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b5cf58d_Austria or Bavaria respectively in južnejšej provinience, where such parts were normally included in cycles.

The music of Bach's work Tilge, Höchster, meine Sünden is a reworking of GB Pergolesi's well-known work Stabat Mater. Bach used the text of the 51st Psalm in Picander's ecstasy and applied it to the well-known music of his younger Italian colleague. He did not preserve Pergolesi's order of parts, he changed them in the interest of his conception the appropriateness of the tones and the themes themselves. Bach's intervention is most noticeable in the reworking of the viola part. V ňom najmarkantnejšie badať rukopis majstra Bacha a rozdiel medzi „jednoduchou“  nebarokovou hudbou Pergolesiho a všadeprítomným inštrumentálnym kontrapunktom_cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_Johann Sebastiana.

bottom of page